God is not into labels

Because I only had a small finishing touch (a signature) to put on the devotional I had already written, I waited until late last night to do it. It’s a two minute job even for my techo-challenged self. So, some time around 11pm-ish, I sat down to ‘sign’ and post it. Two minutes later, the post disappeared. Seriously.
The disappearing post was about how I occasionally ask God to “label” my trials. I sometimes tell Him that if He labeled them, and I had some kind of warning – before the tough situation hit – I might possibly be equipped to react . . . better. (Something like, “Darnelle, pay attention, fiery darts up ahead!!”) So far He’s not gotten on board.

Most of the time when I encounter some trial, some unexpected difficulty, I often catch myself falling into ‘default’ mode. Default mode for me is generally a mixture of anxious thoughts and a sizable portion of fear/doubt. It’s not where I want to be. It’s certainly not where I should be and yet, before I have a chance to think, there I am. Default mode. Eventually I make my way back to thankfulness and praise mode, but usually only after the detour.

Now, I invite you to enjoy the humor with me. I sat down to publish this post – about how I wish God would label my trials to give me some warning and:

#1 – The post disappeared. (then minutes later)
#2 – My husband injured his back (history says – days in bed for him) and all of the over-time dinero he was going to make this weekend – out the window. He is very disappointed and in pain. (then minutes later)
#3 – I walked into the kitchen only to find our income tax bill that states we owe thousands in taxes – (because of the mismanagement of a former – not so ethical – employer)

Strike 3 . . . And not one of them with a label or warning.

The longer I sit here, the more I realize that a few folks reading this, right now, may be sitting at the top of the slide with me, ready to slip on down to default mode. The place where the enemy causes us to forget who we are and more importantly, Who we serve. The place where fear and doubt reign – and not our King. The place where our (un-announced) trials seem bigger than our God.

Maybe today could be a new day. Maybe today, we just skip default mode, and go directly to thankfulness and praise. Maybe today we just trust what we KNOW about Him and not what we think we SEE . Maybe we could stretch ourselves to believe that, really and truly, ALL THINGS, in God’s hands, work together for good.

That’s my plan. Though the trials of today, the ones with no labels or warnings, were a surprise to me, they were not, to Him. That’s good enough. Join me?

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; The God of my strength in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation; My stronghold and my refuge; My Savior . . . (2 Samuel 22:2-3)


Also posted at CWO’s Internet Cafe

9 Responses to “God is not into labels”

  1. Becoming Me Says:

    That was such a great post. Our trials do not come with a warning lable instead I think everyday has a standard label “Come to me those who are weary and burden laden and I will give you rest.”
    I’m on that slide too! Thank you for this honest post and your sweet heart for sharing truth.

  2. Julie, Says:

    Darnelle,
    I loved this devotional. I have sure been where you are and can be there again easily. There were times when I felt like the state of Florida in 2004….”one hurricane after another hitting the shores of my life”.

    I am glad you are seeing the choices before you. It’s easy to get taken out in the midst of all that hits us. I wrote last night about “waiting on God” on my blog. Waiting is not one of my favorite things to do. So often in the midst of waiting the doubts rise up within me. It all comes back to trust for me. What will I choose to believe.

    Last week I had issues with my back. I am sorry for your husband. Back pain is horrible. Icing it got me better thankfully.

    Praying for you and yours!
    Julie

  3. Amy Says:

    Mrs Darnelle
    Awesome post, and so true.

    Last nights sermon comes to mind – when we hit a trial
    “God already knows what He is going to do!”

  4. Angie Says:

    Darnelle—this was awesome! I posted my comment over at CWO-=–but had to come here as well. The Lord amazes me….I heard a scripture yesterday at church and you instantly came to my mind! Isaiah 33:6 He will be the sure foundation for your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge; the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure. (NIV) He is your Sure Foundation. No matter what the enemy flings (we are going through a severe patch of thorns as well)—but I try my hardest to cling to the Anchor…to the One that holds me secure. This mortal life is not forever…we are preparing our garments for the Wedding of a Lifetime! I will keep you in my prayers! God gave you the “surprises” to assure you with something tangible–as in a T-Shirt and books 🙂 That He had His awesome eye on YOU!
    I love you and am praying!

  5. lori@allyouhavetogive Says:

    JUST to tell you……DEFINATELY YOUR BEST ARTICLE TO DATE!!!! APRIL 08….
    just in case you didn’t get it….THAT RHYMED!!!!

    IT was AWESOME…..could you write 3 or 4 a month…it’s one of my favorite columns!! (AND I”M NOT JUST SAYING THAT!!!!:)

    Great issue!! Don’t you think!!!!
    But you knew that ALREADY…you peeked!!!HAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!
    hugs,
    lori

  6. Laurel Says:

    So true, love it.

  7. Sue Cramer Says:

    It is so good to know that He never changes and is never surprised!!

    Great post!
    Sue

  8. Kysha Says:

    Girl, I just love your realness! You are awesome. Giving God glory for using you.

  9. Amy Grant Bayliss Says:

    … and through all of this you find the time to help others (eh, hum – me). You are an amazing woman and I am blessed to have you as a friend.

    I’m praying my dear.

Leave a Reply

