I’m out of control

So, Claire mentioned that she “spoke” with a friend this morning (instant msg.) in Beijing, China. Mandy is studying at Beijing University and will be there until August. Her goal is to become fluent in Chinese so that God could send her back later as a missionary. Go Mandy!!!

Anyway, I began to discuss with Claire about how amazing it is to me that when this country was being formed a couple of centuries ago, communicating with someone across the Atlantic meant “mailing” a letter and waiting for a response that could take upwards of 4-5 months! Now we just chat with buddies in Beijing everyday like ladies over the backyard fence.

Then it happened . . .

“Geeze, Mom! Do you have to be a teacher all of the time?!?”

Sorry Honey. I just can’t help it. I’m out of control, I tell ya!

(The answer, by the way . . . is No. I can quit anytime I want!)

10 Responses to “I’m out of control”

  1. Amy Says:

    but you wouldn’t be Mrs Darnelle if you weren’t a teacher πŸ™‚ I love you the way you are lol And I am eternally grateful that you make me realized I can talk to mandi just like that though, I still like sending and receiving letters. My friend Katie, in OR, still write real letters back and forth.

  2. Linda Says:

    I turn everything into a lesson, too. I have a degree in teaching, but I never taught full-time, but if you ask my teenagers, I have and do teach full-time! When I did a short-term mission trip in Kazakhstan, I was amazed that, although it was difficult, I managed to email home. Unbelievable.

  3. lori Says:

    MINE say the same thing..then cut me off and add “mom, I don’t want to learn anythingggggggggg right now..I’m just telling YOU…”
    I COMPLEEEEEEEEEEEEEETEly understand sister!

    you are not alone! πŸ™‚
    have a great weekend!
    lori

  4. Kelley @ Aroma of Joy Says:

    I just let them know that being a teacher (or parent) all the time is not an easy cross to bear, yet bear it I must!

    ~~~Kelley

  5. Kysha Says:

    lol! That’s what mommy teachers do!

  6. Sandy Says:

    Once a home school mom aways a home school mom, I do the same thing!

  7. sarahandry Says:

    haha thats funny πŸ™‚

  8. Angie Says:

    I think we can’t help it. I never homeschooled…but I was constantly trying to get them to learn something…so they would not repeat my mistakes!
    Thanks for your sweet reply on my LWG post. It has been hard, but I feel the need to share. You /others may get tired of hearing…but Darnelle, I have not scratched the surface of what we saw, felt and praised God through From Saturday to Tuesday when she left us. Later. More later. God will use Wanda’s life in some way to touch lives. She never had the strength or strong voice to speak it out…but we will share it. Aimee and I. Somehow.

  9. lori@allyouhavetogive Says:

    NO FAIR!!!! you go to that church too….That’s it…I’m packing now…moving to Louisiana….
    can you find me a house!
    HA! You are a peeker too…..I know that some people think that’s just wrong…I think it’s FUN!!!:)

    Hope you are having a great day!!
    lori

  10. Kim Says:

    Darnelle, I so appreciate your comment left at Sisterlisa’s! You are so right, and I am more then thankful! After time of reflecting, praying and just seeking God’s face yesterday I came to realize much of what you said!!! I know that satan wants to keep us at odds, and I’m just not going to let him!!! I too have great friends who homeschool and I so appreciate what they do for their children! God Bless you sister, and if you have 5 wierd kids, I have two!!!!!

Leave a Reply

