1 Thessalonians 5:17

“Pray without ceasing.”

I pray when I see someone on the side of the road with car trouble. (Then I call roadside assistance) . I prayed, Oh Lord did I pray, when Sam was found in his family’s pool. I pray when I see my children struggle with life . . . and people. I pray for wisdom. I pray when my husband or son drive out of the driveway – every morning. I prayed when my parents divorced. I pray when I think of children sold into sexual slavery. Then I cry.

“Pray without ceasing.”

I prayed when I saw a giant man walk out of a convenience store with a bottle of Jack Daniels in one hand and a stack of “magazines” in the other. I pray for wisdom. I pray when I think that I have disappointed God. I pray when I talk to someone who is so confused about the Father’s love that they begin to believe the enemy’s lies. I pray as I witness sweet, godly friends crumble under the weight of a family member’s choices. I prayed when people I love experienced all the hell a divorce can deliver – I still pray for their children.

“Pray without ceasing.”

I pray for a neighbor who is a single parent of 4 teens. I pray for wisdom. I pray when I hear about someone struggling with deep depression. I pray for people I’ve met who are bound by anger, fear, confusion, loneliness and mountains of doubt. I prayed for a neighbor whose daughter was murdered. Then we cried on my porch. I prayed when the planes hit the towers. When the towers fell, I was speechless – but He heard me.

“Pray without ceasing.”

I pray for two little boys whose mom is Brittany Spears. I pray for Brittany and others like her. I pray when I see another commercial for “America’s Next Top Model” as they feed young men and women lies about modesty and womanhood. I pray for “Madame ________” who is a fortune teller working a few miles from where I live.

“Pray without ceasing.”

I pray when I see my children lift their hands in worship. I pray when I see children of divorce forgive and thrive. I pray when I hear about Sam learning to walk and talk again because thousands of people talked to God about him. I pray when my son and husband drive up. I pray when I read the testimony of a former “magazine” addict who now loves Jesus. I pray when a homeless man shows up at church because someone in our church served him in the street.

“Pray without ceasing.”

I prayed when my parents reconciled. I pray because I’ve been set free – really free. I pray for a small church whose members adopted over 60 special needs foster kids. I pray when I begin to see my children walk in their Kingdom purpose. I pray for wisdom. I pray for Christians who have made it their life’s work to rescue children in foreign nations from slavery. I pray for organizations that feed the hungry. I pray as a team of humble musicians usher in the presence of God and transform the atmosphere of the building! I pray for those who know that is isn’t about comfort, but service . . . and then they serve. I pray for those people whom God has raised up for such a time as this – and for those He will raise up. I pray as I realize that it may very well be that time – now – that Peter spoke of in Acts 2:16-17:

“But this is what was spoken through the prophet Joel: And it shall come to pass in the last days, God declares, that I will pour out of My Spirit upon all mankind, and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy and your young men shall see visions and your old men shall dream dreams.”

I pray when God reminds me that everything is in His very capable hands.

“Pray without ceasing.”



Also posted at CWO’s Internet Cafe’


9 Responses to “1 Thessalonians 5:17”

  1. Amanda G. Says:

    I know everytime I read a post of yours I say ” I needed to read this. Well, my friend today is no different. Yes it is today Darnell I really needed this. Thank you for listening to the holy spirit. For writing your heart. You will never know how much your writing ministers to me. Today I am a mother who is grieving because her 13 year old son is so angry and confused that he doesn’t know how to handle life at the moment. I see that know words that I can say can make a difference. I love my son. God loves my son. I need to pray without ceasing!

  2. Kathy S Says:

    I am praying with you, and after reading your post, I know I need to pray more. Thank you for all your prayers. My heart is united with yours in Christ,
    Kathy

  3. Loni Says:

    I tried to leave a comment on CWO but it kept going blank on me, so I don’t know if it will post there. But this touched me greatly. It really made me think and about all the whispers of prayers in our hearts throughout the days. It would be neat (if you don’t mind) of having women share their prayers like this and have a Mr. Linky to them. No pressure – just a thought.

    Thank you for sharing your prayers here. It’s profound.

  4. lori Says:

    this is one of YOUR BEST ones…..I say it all the time..pray without ceasing..like an all day conversation, which works for me since I don’t ever SHUT UP…..but WHAT A CONVERSATION…..an unceasing one…..I loved this!!!! you get me every time!!!
    love you!
    lori

  5. Angie Says:

    Darnelle, I hope you don’t mind, but I added your link to my side bar! I love you. Be blessed!

  6. Stephanie Says:

    Darnelle,
    Thanks for writing this, it’s a sweet confirmation from the Lord.

  7. Amy Says:

    wow. Funnyy I felt like Pray without ceasing was what God gave me in Dec and he continues to press it on my heart. I feel like the next year is going to very important – that many thing in my future are going to be made clear. Until I will keep trusting.

  8. Tammy Says:

    Darnelle, you expressed the “praying without ceasing” concept so well! It’s sometimes hard to explain that to people when they ask about your prayer life, but it truly is like a steady quiet conversation with God from sunrise to sunset. And it gives me :::Godbumps::: to know that I’m not alone in talking to God about every little detail that passes through my day 🙂

    Blessings,
    Tammy ~@~

  9. In Other Words: Mama Praying « Writing Canvas Says:

    […] read this prayer from Darnelle, that touched me greatly a few weeks ago of things that touched her life, that has […]

Leave a Reply

