Happily Ever After – THE END

Predictable happy endings, walking off into the sunset, happily ever after etc., etc. That’s what I like. Not so much the mushy emotional stuff (I’m a little left-brained) just the predictable, every-situation-gets-solved, no loose ends, explanations-all-around kind of scenario – ta da! THE END.

When I was introduced to Jesus and the “Christian Walk”, I naturally believed that, “This, now, finally, will be the beginning of eternal bliss, predictability, no problems, sunsets, and happily ever afters – batteries included!” (Who knows that I needed just a little discipling?)
Yes, into every new believer’s life some rain must fall, and all of the silver linings come equipped with dark clouds, and (quoting my friend Jeff,) “What don’t kill ya, makes ya stronger!”

I remember, after trying to walk with Christ for a few months, I kind of started wishing I’d never heard about Him, salvation OR eternity. It was just hard. All these “trials” (as they were now called) popping up everywhere. . . “letting go and letting God” . . . trusting someone you can’t see . . . putting your life in the hands of another. Giving up control of your life is NOT easy – especially if you’re not yet certain about the motives of the Person to whom you are relinquishing control. And then, the icing on the cake – learn to be happy about the “trials!”

To read the rest of this post, visit me today at CWO’s Internet Cafe’

4 Responses to “Happily Ever After – THE END”

  1. Katherine Says:

    I read all of this over on Christian Women Online. This was absolutely GREAT! Just what I needed!

  2. Robert Says:

    Hi Danielle,
    Thanks for the encauragement, I badly need it. I come from kenya, you might have read the news, actually we are victims of the clashes. We do not have food nor somewhere to stay, families are out in the cold with children who are already tramatised by events of the last one week. I thank God coz at the end of it all God’s peace will prevail. Help is coming from people you don’t even know, God is amazing!Keep the faith.
    God bless you.
    Robert

  3. MandyMom Says:

    Great post…

    One thing I have learned is that God is NOT predictable because His plans are NOT our plans (oh how different my life would be….). Thankfully there is a “happy ending”, and we can predict where we will go when our time on earth is over.

  4. Aimee Says:

    Thanks for the comment on my writing at “Sisters of Faith,” wanted to visit you and I’m glad I did, you blessed my heart. I enjoyed your writing, your perspective on trials was awesome, we’ve all been in the fire you were speaking of (seem to be in it alot lately) and the poem fit so perfectly! I’ll be back to visit!

Leave a Reply

