like a little child

Sometimes, God just does really cool things. I think my 8 year old daughter would agree. In my home, there are five children. The oldest 3 are teens, the 4th is only months away from being “teen-age-r-y” (a Bill Cosby word we like) and the youngest . . . is 8. While her 4 older siblings are busy with college finals, or their jobs, or learning to drive, she spends her time searching for someone – anyone – to join her in “Barbie” land.
Then, it happened. A few months ago, into our neighborhood, directly across the street from us, a new family moved in. A made-to-order family that my daughter, I feel certain, prayed for. They are a homeschooling group (like us), with 5 kids (like us), with 4 older kids doing the college-teenager-job-driving things (like us), and (are you ready?) one, heaven-sent, last born, Barbie-toting, no one to play with, daughter! Fast-forward a few weeks . . . the two Barbie queens are inseparable and must be torn apart, every evening, via the ‘jaws of life’. It’s a beautiful thing.

To read the rest of this post, visit me at Christian Women Online

6 Responses to “like a little child”

  1. Amy Says:

    Excellent post. Its so true… God really does care about all those little things.

  2. Tiany Says:

    This is an excellent post! what a blessing for you all as a family , it was like Gods little gift to you and your daughter!

    Amy told me we are neighbors!!! I live in Prairieville and my husband works for Healing Places sister church in Mandeville “Church Of The king” just thought I would drop in and say hello!

    Blessings to you and yours,
    Tiany

  3. darnelle Says:

    Tiany,
    Thanks for visiting! I dropped by your site also – your boys are beautiful! They look like they belong on the cover of a magazine!
    Since you guys are somewhat “connected” to HPC, through your church, I hope we’ll meet someday soon! (Also, my husband and I hope to find a house in your area one day soon – you never know!)
    Thanks again for coming by!

  4. Shalom Says:

    Love you for sharing that wee little blessing. Thank the Lord for providing for you a custom made playmate for your daughter.

  5. lori@allyouhavetogive Says:

    don’t you just LOVE when GOD drops those blessings in your lap…
    if that family gets tired of ya’ll send them to the EAST…I could use some homeschooling neighbors!!:)
    hugs,
    lori

    I still can’t get over that you homeschool and I did not know…
    I really SHOULD read those bios…
    I just need more hours!!
    Merry Christmas!!
    lori

  6. Linda C Says:

    What a huge blessing! I miss those Barbie days with my girls, although it wasn’t as “severe” as other girls’ passion for her.

Leave a Reply

