A Christmas Miracle . . . kind of

I’m a mom. I make no apologies. In some ways I am not a typical mom. In other ways, I am textbook – my face is next to the word “mom” in the dictionary. And in typical “Mom” fashion, if I was asked, “What thing would you save if running out of the house during a fire?” . . . there is only one answer – my photo albums. Love ’em, love ’em, love ’em. Hundreds and hundreds of family photos of kids (and parents) growing up and doing life together. My favorite album is one where each page has a photo of our family, every year, in front of the Christmas tree. Granted, the first few years there was only Danny, myself and a cocker spaniel in the photo. But after a while, there was Danny, Darnelle (pregnant), and cocker spaniel. The next year it was Danny, Darnelle, baby Joshua and cocker spaniel then . . . Danny, Darnelle (pregnant) and Joshua (no dog – don’t ask), etc. Every other year, I’m expecting a baby or there is a new baby in the family. (This became a habit) Anyway, It’s my favorite album because it holds a once-a-year snapshot of the Ferraras. Every year we look different, the kids are a little older and there’s a new family member in the group. I flip through that album and I see 21+ years of change and growth and blessing. I see babies turn into toddlers who then turn into people taller than me. I see our life. It’s my very favorite album.

Last year, we hit a snag and though I can’t remember the details, we did not have a family photo taken around the tree on Christmas Day. I remember thinking, “That’s OK. We’ll do it after Christmas when we have more time.” Somehow it never happened and it’s been bugging me for a year.

This year, the work schedules and school schedules and everything else are even more hairy than before, but I was determined. And so, with much less time and effort than I thought it would take, we got everyone together and I got my Christmas photo. (I’m pretty sure the cooperation was due to the fact that my family was a little tired of hearing about how I didn’t get a family photo last year.) No, it isn’t Christmas yet, but the photo is in front of a tree (my parents’ house) so I’m good. I’m so excited. I’ve already used the photo to order Christmas cards, an 8 x 10 for the wall and, of course, the 2007 entry in the Family Christmas album. Now I can breathe. And the best part? Now that the eldest Ferrara kid has opened my eyes to the wonder of Photoshop, I’m pretty sure I won’t be aging anymore. At least not in Christmas photos 🙂

background2.jpg

6 Responses to “A Christmas Miracle . . . kind of”

  1. Amanda G. Says:

    Your family is so awesome. I hope you all have a very blessed Christmas! Thank you Darnelle for being such an awesome woman of God. I know that we do not know each other that well, however you are very much a role model for me.

  2. Amy Says:

    Awe, ya’ll look so great. I love it. We haven’t taken a christmas picture in wow a long time. mom was on our case a while back. I think Dad wore us out by taking too many pictures but We definetly need to take one this year

  3. Jamie Says:

    Amen, Amy! Mrs. Darnelle, I love the picture, and I think you’ve given us hope/inspiration for our Christmas picture! Love ya!

  4. A.Cait Says:

    Favorite family in the world. 🙂 I’m SO glad I got to ‘talk’ with y’all yesterday and see your smiling faces!! You look beautiful and I’m glad you got your Christmas picture. Everyone looks SO grown up! I can’t believe it’s been three (almost four) whole months since I’ve seen y’all… I’m lookin’ forward to seein’ y’all real soon! I love you!!

  5. Amy Bayliss Says:

    awe look! It is a few of my favorite people! You all are awesome and I love you!

    Amy

  6. Linda C Says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words at Internet Cafe on my article about depression. You are correct; I did struggle with depression about ten years ago. I’m in a different place now, thanks to God and my husband and church friends and counselors. But I can still remember the hopelessness quite vividly. I pray you have a blessed Christmas and New Year.

Leave a Reply

