Definitions of Grace

A few years ago, if anyone had asked me if I knew what “grace” was, I’d have said “yes” and then given a standard definition:
grace is God’s unmerited favor.
It was a definition that had not made its way from my intellect to my heart. That was about to change.

After eighteen years of marriage and five children, everything was falling apart at the seams. It really shouldn’t have been though. We had been Christians who loved God since before we married. We went to church, tithed, read our Bibles, home schooled our children, and did every other self-imposed “expected” thing. We thought we had all of our ‘ducks in a row’. And though I’m sure God appreciates a nice straight row of ducks now and then, it turns out we missed a few things.

To view the rest of this post, visit me at Christian Women Online

4 Responses to “Definitions of Grace”

  1. Amy Says:

    God’s grace never stops amazing me. I still do not understand why God is still with me. After all I have done, after all of my selfish motives, my truly unclean heart, God still loves me, wants to be with me, and new grace everyday. And He wants to use me, and let me be apart. Amazing isn’t it.
    Great post Mrs Darnelle. Ducks in a row are not all they are cut out to be are they.I know if mine are in a row but my heart and spirit are not right I am miserable.

  2. Amanda G. Says:

    Darnelle, I just read your latest blog. Oh my goodness, God is so good. I so needed to read this today. Thank you so much for praying for us. A funny thing happened today. Zoe was cleaning her room and she found the newspaper clipping from when she was born and your Joelle’s birth announcement was on the same page. How crazy is that.
    I love your family, you are all so awesome!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Hey Sweet Friend,
    This is such an awesome reminder to me that God never gives me what I deserve but lavishes me with His mercy and grace. Thank you for being one of the ways he lavishes me. You’re an awesome friend!

  4. Laura Says:

    Wow! That sounds so much like my own recent testimony. Isn’t it crazy how we can live our lives thinking we are doing everything right just to find out we had been blinded by a lie. Hold on, dear lady…I have found that this kind of transparency threatens some. God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

