Is it EVER about me?

 

I have bit of a habit of analyzing, over-analyzing, thinking about and over-thinking most ideas that land in my noggin. It’s a fascinating personality trait, unless you’re married to me.

One of the things that I ponder regularly is motivation. Why did someone say a particular thing or react a certain way? Why do any of us pour enormous amounts of energy into certain endeavors and little or no energy into others? While this habit of mine may be somewhat annoying to family members, I have discovered that it is especially useful in gaining a little insight into the enemy’s motivations in choosing the particular ways that he decides to temp us and lure us away from the things of God.

You know the story of the enemy, right? It goes like this: God given rank in heaven, then pride, rebellion, banishment, anger, hatred, revenge and jealousy. The jealousy part is where we come in. Satan, the enemy of our soul, lost his place in eternity. So did we. The difference is that God, in His unending, over the top, outrageous love for his children, made a way for us to regain our status in the family and in eternity – Jesus. Satan will never be given that chance and he hates those of us who have. He cannot work his way back into an eternity with God, and he can’t take away what God has sealed in us. What’s he to do then? That’s where I start thinking about his motivation. Of all the many, many, many countless ways that the devil works in humanity to bring about destruction and loss (Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8) the common place that every temptation begins is with ‘self’. He gets us to focus on ourselves and how we are treated, and how we feel, and if we got our share, and did we get our recognition, and every other question that contains the words I, or me, or my, or mine. Then you throw in some feelings of offense, a little resentment, bitterness, anger and hatred and you can generate sin in so many different directions it will make your head spin! Yes indeed, it all starts with taking the bait when he tempts us to think about ourselves for too long. (John Bevere has THE book on the subject – The Bait of Satan). Besides all of the sin and other yuck that comes from a selfish mindset, what other motivation could the devil have in focusing so much of his energy to keep us functioning this way? It’s easy to figure out that his goal is to lead us in a direction that is 100% opposite of the direction that God has called us to.

Consider this. God calls us to turn the other cheek. The devil suggests revenge because our feelings have been hurt. God tells us to forgive offense. The devil invites us to hold a never-ending grudge because we deserve an apology. God assures us that He will provide for us. The devil tells us that we have to take what we need. God says that He will promote us when we are ready. The devil whispers that the world owes us something now. God wants us to “esteem others more highly than ourselves”. The devil wants us to look out for number 1.

It’s pretty clear that if we are consumed with I, me, my and mine, we will most likely never fulfill the purposes for which God created us. For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Ephesians 2:10

We were created in God’s image to love, serve, give, sacrifice, love, forgive, trust, serve, love, give, love, sacrifice, love, trust, love, give, love, love, love, until we look so much like Jesus that God does a double-take.

It’s not about our agenda . . . it’s about His.

It’s not about our comfort here and now . . . it’s about living and breathing so close to God that we forget that we had an agenda of our own. It’s about God first, then others. Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, strength, and mind and love your neighbor as yourself. Luke 10:27

That’s what God has anointed us to do. It makes perfect sense that the devil would work to make sure that we don’t take our eyes off of ourselves long enough to really “get it”.

Alrighty then. In all of our brilliance we’ve figured out a fundamental precept of the kingdom. Yay us! If we’re honest with ourselves though, there is still a quirky little question hanging around in the back of our minds that we’d like to ignore. But it won’t let us. We know that we shouldn’t be obsessed with our own needs/desires – rather we should be concerned with what concerns God. . . . . . .but . . . . . .

(Is it EVER about me?)

There, I said it.

In the deepest part of us, we truly want to love and please God. We really do. It’s just that, . . . well . . . in all of this . . . when is it about me?

Good news! That’s God’s job. Creation was about me. We were created for fellowship with God. The law and the prophets were about me. We needed to know His heart and His plan. Sending Jesus was ALL about me. He made a way to get us back into relationship with Himself. Eternity is about me. It’s our real home and He’s been preparing it, like . . . forever, and He is waiting for us to get there!

We need to be all about God’s business here on earth.  That’s our job. And we don’t have to spend so much time worrying about our personal situations because, that’s His job.

Is it EVER about me? . . . In His heart, it’s always been about me!

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Is it EVER about me?”

  1. Amanda G. Says:

    Darnelle,
    You may not blog as often as others, and it is well worth it. When you do it totally packs a punch! Another awesome blog. You are so rightabout how satan wants us to take what we think we deserve. I have someone very dear to me who used to be a mighty warrior for God. I know he loves the Lord, however he is very stuck in an ” what about me” stage. It hurts to see him this way. At times I try to remind him of what God wants for us. Most of the time I stay silent and pray. Thanks for renewing my will to pray for him.

  2. Greatfullivin Says:

    AWESOME!! Wonderful, Moving writing. It really does inspire me to be less consumed with me and more consumed with God. Thanks!

  3. Amy Says:

    Really good Mrs Darnelle. Its so easy for life to switch focus off or what it truly is about and its not me.

  4. lori@allyouhavetogive Says:

    I came over from the Cafe since I enjoyed your post so much and I THOUGHT THAT one was GOOD! WOW, this one blew me away…I am going to share it with a few non bloggers I know!
    I could have written the first paragraph, (not as eloquently, I have to say) you sounded like me! And my husband is married to one!!:)

    It was about me…the one that HE created….and now it’s about HIM! Doing whatever I can to bring praise and glory to His name!! I used to ask, “what about me….” I know better now…
    Your post was absolutely inspiring!
    thank you for the blessing!
    ~peace,
    lori

  5. kim sanders Says:

    Wow! (I) am reminded once again who the enemy likes to use against me (me)! Thank you for your eloquent way of giving it to me! I am so glad that He who is in me is greater than he that is in the world!
    In Him,
    kim

  6. Carole Turner Says:

    We read Bait of Satan in the Book Club, it really helped so many of us. Have you ever read “A Tale of Three Kings” by Gene Edwards? It’s small but super powerful.

    God Bless.

  7. darnelle Says:

    Carole you are so right about “A Tale of Three Kings”! I was rereading parts of it just last night! It packs a punch. Gene Edwards has a ton of other books that are much the same. I’m determined to get them all. He’s my new favorite author! I’ve even asked for some of his books for Christmas 🙂 (Most of his books can be found for less than a dollar on http://www.half.com)
    Have an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

